athenamt NMSU honors researchers who generate funding of 500,000 dollars or more | New Mexico State University - BE BOLD. Shape the Future.
Skip to main content

NMSU honors researchers who generate funding of 500,000 dollars or more

New Mexico State University recognized university faculty members and staff Nov. 20 who were responsible for attracting $500,000 or more in external funding during the past fiscal year, 2014.
“These outstanding staff and faculty researchers are leaders in the university’s efforts to bring in vital funding for critical research and development projects,” said Vice President for Research Vimal Chaitanya. “I appreciate their excellent work and am pleased that we are able to recognize their efforts.”
For the fiscal year, the university attracted almost $140 million in funding from outside sources for research and development activities. Of that total, the researchers honored at the event were responsible for 82 percent.
Those honored at the reception Nov. 20 include:
College of Agricultural, Consumer, and Environmental Sciences
Katherine Bachman, Shelly Bucher, James Cain, Martha Desmond, Alexander Fernald, Esther Devall, Gerald Hawkes, Mary O’Connell, Brooke Stanley Tou, Carol Turner
College of Education
Wanda Maria Bulger-Tamez, Susan Brown, Elizabeth Cahill, Amanda Gibson-Smith, Karin Wiburg
College of Arts and Sciences
Jeffrey Arterburn, Reta Beebe, Gary Eiceman, Jon Holtzman, Michael Johnson, Shelley Lusetti, Satyajayant Misra, Enrico Pontelli, Frank Ramos, Elba Serrano, Graciela Unguez
College of Engineering
Ricardo Jacquez, David Jauregui, Young Lee, Mingjun Wei
College of Health and Social Services
Tina Hancock
Alamogordo Community College
Jeffrey Bacon, Jarrold Rupe
Carlsbad Community College
Valerie Davis
Carlsbad Environmental Monitoring and Resources Center
Russell Hardy
Dona Ana Community College
Jo Ann Garay, Fred Owensby, Lora Ross, John Walker
New Mexico Department of Agriculture
Bonnie Rabe
Physical Science Laboratory
Jerry Anderson, Danny Ball, Raymond Bernstein, Dallas Brooks, Joanne Esparza, Michael Garcia, Stuart Head, Stephen Hottman, Michael Paz, Marcos Quinones
International and Border Programs
Cornell Menking
U.S. Department of Agriculture
Debra Peters, Richard Estell
University Communications and Marketing Services
Adrian Velarde
Vice President for Research
Patricia Hynes
Vice President for Student Affairs
Anthony Marin